Home » DIVERSITY NETWORK » DNC Speaker Series

DNC Speaker Series

Advances in Prevention Science, Diversity, and Inclusion

The DNC presentation series aims to highlight research on prevention science and public health led by researchers from underrepresented groups and primarily conduct research with understudied groups (e.g., racial/ethnic minorities, individuals who identify as a sexual minority individuals with disabilities). The presentation series will also aim to create a forum for the guest speaker(s) to share career/professional reflections as a researcher from an underrepresented group(s) and to promote discussions of diversity and inclusion in professions related to prevention science and public health.

2022 DNC Speakers Series shall be organized that recognizes and celebrate cultural groups.

  • Women’s History Month (March 21) learn more
  • National Hispanic Heritage Month (October 18, 2-3 pm Eastern/11-12 pm Pacific) learn more
  • Native American Heritage Month (November 17, 3-4 pm Eastern/12-1 pm Pacific) learn more
    • Empowering Rural Hawaiian Communities to Address Health Disparities and Pursue Health Equity: Challenges and Rewards. Speaker: Sarah Momilani Marshall, PhD, MSW
    • Many thanks to our DNC Speaker Series “Benefactor” Sponsor: Prevention Science Program, College of Education, University of Oregon

2021 DNC Speakers Series

Questions: Jennifer Lewis, SPR Executive Director, jenniferlewis@preventionresearch.org.