Prevention Science – The Official Journal of the Society For Prevention Research

News and Updates  I  Overview and Editorial Board  Instructions for Authors I For access, login to the members-only page. 

News and Updates

  • The 2020, impact factor for SPR’s journal, Prevention Science, is 4.056.  The journal ranks 30 out of 176 journals in the Public, Environmental & Occupational Health category. For more information on the Impact Factor, click here. (https://www.springer.com/journal/11121)

“One of the primary goals of SPR is to create a scientific, multidisciplinary forum for prevention science, and a concerted effort is being made to invite investigators to join SPR whose research specialities are not represented in the current membership.”

Overview and Editorial Board

Prevention Science is the official publication of the Society for Prevention Research. The journal serves as an interdisciplinary forum designed to disseminate new developments in the theory, research and practice of prevention. Prevention sciences encompassing etiology, epidemiology and intervention are represented through peer-reviewed original research articles on a variety of health and social problems, including but not limited to substance abuse, mental health, HIV/AIDS, violence, bullying, accidents, teenage pregnancy, suicide, delinquency, STD’s, obesity, diet/nutrition, exercise, and chronic illness. The journal publishes literature reviews, theoretical articles, meta-analyses, systematic reviews, brief reports, replication studies, and papers concerning new developments in methodology.

Many thanks go out to Catherine Bradshaw, editor, Gilbert Botvin and Bob McMahon, past editors, the associate editors, the editorial board, authors and reviewers of Prevention Science for their invaluable support and commitment to SPR and the journal.


Catherine P. Bradshaw, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia

Previous Editors-in-Chief:
Gilbert J. Botvin, Weill Medical College of Cornell University, New York, New York (2000-2006)
Robert J. McMahon, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, British Columbia (2007-2013)

Associate Editors:
Abigail A. Fagan, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida
Frances Gardner,  University of Oxford, Oxford, UK
Keith Herman, University of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri
Sarah Lindstrom Johnson, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ, USA
Antonio A. Morgan-López, RTI International, Research Triangle Park, NC, USA
Rashelle Jean Musci, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA
Hanno Petras, American Institutes for Research, Washington, DC
J.D. Smith, University of Utah School of Medicine, Salt Lake City, UT

Interim Managing Editor:
Chelsey Baker-Hauck, Denver, Colorado

Editorial Board:
Jon-Patrick Allem, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Lew Bank, Oregon Social Learning Center, Eugene
Courtney N. Baker, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA, USA
William R. Beardslee, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts
Peter Bentler, University of California, Los Angeles
Cady Berkel, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ, USA
Anthony Biglan, Oregon Research Institute, Eugene
Laurie Miller Brotman, New York University, New York
Lisa Dierker, Wesleyan University, Middletown, Connecticut
Katrina J. Debnam, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
Celene Domitrovich, Georgetown University, Washington, DC
Phillip W. Graham, RTI International, Research Triangle Park, NC, USA
Sean Grant, Indiana University, Indianapolis, IN, USA
Kenneth W. Griffin, Weill Medical College of Cornell University, New York, New York
Kevin Haggerty, University of Washington, Seattle
William Hansen, Prevention Strategies, LLC, Greensboro, North Carolina
Nancy Grant Harrington, University of Kentucky, Lexington
Kimberly Henry, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO, USA
Laura Hill, Washington State University, Pullman, WA, USA
Francis Huang, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO, USA
Nicholas Ialongo, John Hopkins University, Baltimore
Richard Jessor, University of Colorado, Boulder
Karol L. Kumpfer, University of Utah, Salt Lake City
Bonnie Leadbeater, University of Victoria, British Columbia
Patty Leijten, University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Michael A. Lindsey, New York University, New York, NY, USA
Sarah Lindstrom Johnson, Arizona State University, Tempe
Weiwei Liu, NORC at the University of Chicago, Bethesda, Maryland
Russell V. Luepker, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
Charles Martinez, University of Texas at Austin, Austin
Greta Massetti, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, GA, USA
Carol Metzler, Oregon Research Institute, Eugene
Mildred Maldonado-Molina, University of Florida, Gainesville
Adam J. Milam, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA
Trang Q. Nguyen, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA
Elise Pas, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA
Cheryl Perry, University of Texas, Austin
Ray DeV Peters, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario
Richard Price, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Ron Prinz, University of South Carolina, Columbia
Nathaniel R. Riggs, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO, USA
Irwin Sandler, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ, USA
Beth Stormshak, University of Oregon, Eugene
Emily Tanner-Smith, University of Oregon, Eugene, OR, USA
Ralph E. Tarter, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pennsylvania
Patrick H. Tolan, University of Virginia, Charlottesville
Alexander C. Wagenaar, University of Florida, Gainesville
Tracy Evian Waasdorp, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA, USA
Helene White, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey

Early-Career Mentored Editorial Board Members
Summer Braun, University of Alabama
Daniel A. Camacho, Johns Hopkins University
Athena Chan, University of Minnesota
Alejandra Fernandez, University of Miami
Lucine Francis, Johns Hopkins University
Chanler Hilley, Arizona State University
Joanna Kim, Arizona State University
Joseph Kush, Johns Hopkins University
Chynna S. McCall, University of Missouri
Elly Miles, University of Denver
Ani Movsisyan, University of Munich, Germany
Kelly O’Connor, Virginia Commonwealth University
Katrina Prior, University of Sydney, Australia
Sarah Rosenbach, New York University
Radhika Raghunathan, Johns Hopkins University
Kylie Routledge, University of Sydney, Australia
Maria Schweer-Collins, University of Oregon
Gitanjali Shrestha, Washington State University
Sonya Xinyue Xiao, Arizona State University