“One of the primary goals of SPR is to create a scientific, multidisciplinary forum for prevention science, and a concerted effort is being made to invite investigators to join SPR whose research specialties are not represented in the current membership.”

Prevention Science – The Official Journal of the Society For Prevention Research

Description I Editorial Board I For authors and editors I Online Access

The essential, interdisciplinary forum for new developments in the theory, research and practice of prevention.



Catherine P. Bradshaw, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia

Previous Editors-in-Chief:
Gilbert J. Botvin, Weill Medical College of Cornell University, New York, New York (2000-2006)
Robert J. McMahon, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, British Columbia (2007-2013)

Associate Editors:
Abigail A. Fagan, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida
Frances Gardner,  University of Oxford, Oxford, UK
Keith Herman, University of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri
Rashelle Jean Musci, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA
Hanno Petras, American Institutes for Research, Washington, DC
Nathaniel R. Riggs, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado
J.D. Smith, University of Utah School of Medicine, Salt Lake City, UT

Managing Editor:
Sandy Lahn, Seattle

Editorial Board:
Jon-Patrick Allem, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Lew Bank, Oregon Social Learning Center, Eugene
Courtney N. Baker, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA, USA
William R. Beardslee, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts
Peter Bentler, University of California, Los Angeles
Cady Berkel, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ, USA
Anthony Biglan, Oregon Research Institute, Eugene
Laurie Miller Brotman, New York University, New York
Lisa Dierker, Wesleyan University, Middletown, Connecticut
Katrina J. Debnam, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
Celene Domitrovich, Georgetown University, Washington, DC
Phillip W. Graham, RTI International, Research Triangle Park, NC, USA
Sean Grant, Indiana University, Indianapolis, IN, USA
Kenneth W. Griffin, Weill Medical College of Cornell University, New York, New York
Kevin Haggerty, University of Washington, Seattle
William Hansen, Prevention Strategies, LLC, Greensboro, North Carolina
Nancy Grant Harrington, University of Kentucky, Lexington
Kimberly Henry, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO, USA
Laura Hill, Washington State University, Pullman, WA, USA
Francis Huang, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO, USA
Nicholas Ialongo, John Hopkins University, Baltimore
Richard Jessor, University of Colorado, Boulder
Karol L. Kumpfer, University of Utah, Salt Lake City
Bonnie Leadbeater, University of Victoria, British Columbia
Patty Leijten, University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Michael A. Lindsey, New York University, New York, NY, USA
Sarah Lindstrom Johnson, Arizona State University, Tempe
Weiwei Liu, NORC at the University of Chicago, Bethesda, Maryland
Russell V. Luepker, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
Charles Martinez, University of Texas at Austin, Austin
Greta Massetti, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, GA, USA
Carol Metzler, Oregon Research Institute, Eugene
Mildred Maldonado-Molina, University of Florida, Gainesville
Adam J. Milam, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA
Trang Q. Nguyen, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA
Elise Pas, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA
Cheryl Perry, University of Texas, Austin
Ray DeV Peters, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario
Richard Price, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Ron Prinz, University of South Carolina, Columbia
Irwin Sandler, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ, USA
Beth Stormshak, University of Oregon, Eugene
Emily Tanner-Smith, University of Oregon, Eugene, OR, USA
Ralph E. Tarter, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pennsylvania
Patrick H. Tolan, University of Virginia, Charlottesville
Alexander C. Wagenaar, University of Florida, Gainesville
Tracy Evian Waasdorp, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA, USA
Helene White, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey

Early-Career Mentored Editorial Board Members
Tara Bautista, Arizona State University
Daniel A. Camacho, University of Virginia
Chelsea A.K. Duran, University of Virginia
Lucine Francis, Johns Hopkins University
Amanda M. Griffin, University of Oregon
Chanler Hilley, Arizona State University
Chynna S. McCall, University of Missouri
Gabriel J. Merrin, Texas Tech University
Laura Michaelson, University of Colorado Bolder, Institute of Behavioral Science
Ani Movsisyan, University of Munich, Germany
Kelly O’Connor, Virginia Commonwealth University
Karey L. O’Hara, Arizona State University
Katrina Prior, University of Sydney, Australia
Kylie Routledge, University of Sydney, Australia
Maria Schweer-Collins, University of Oregon
Gitanjali Shrestha, Washington State University
Nicole Tuitt, University of California

[Return to Top]