Search SPR
Advanced Search

SPR News – September 15, 2003

Back to SPR News Index

Dear SPR Member:

This issue of “SPR News” includes information on the following:

• SPR Holds 11th Annual Conference
• SPR Unveils Strategic Plan
• SPR Election Results – New SPR Officers and Board Members
• 2003 SPR Award Recipients
• SPR Prestigious Golden Trumpet Award
• Debut of The Mothers of Prevention
• Bylaw Amendment Vote Results


More than 630 attendees from 42 states and 11 countries traveled to the 11th Annual Conference, held in Washington, D.C. on June 12 –14, 2003. The 11th Annual Meeting “Research to Policy” included a successful blend of cutting-edge science presented by prevention researchers and policy and programming updates, as they relate to prevention, presented by senior representatives of Federal institutes and agencies. The three-day program included 67 sessions with 230 paper presentations and two evening poster sessions with 175 poster presentations and 18 technology demonstrations. The four pre-conference workshops were comprehensive and well received by attendees of all career levels.

Many thanks to our NIH partners and to our conference sponsors for their wonderful financial support of conference events and activities. With their support SPR awarded $20,000 in conference travel grants to 38 young investigators presenting at the annual meeting. Special thanks to Zili Sloboda Chair of the Conference Program Planning and the members of the committee for their work for an excellent conference.

We encourage attendees to follow up with presenters for copies of handouts or slides, as available. For author and presenter information reference the printed program and list of attendees distributed at the meeting or contact the SPR Administrative Office for assistance.


At the 11th Annual conference, Gil Botvin gave the presidential address, which provided a report on the growth and development of the organization and highlighted several advances in prevention science based on research conducted by SPR members. He also presented SPR’s new strategic plan, its goals and objectives and projects that support the plan. Click here for the complete presidential address and presentation slides or go to


Gil Botvin announced the election results at the awards banquet on June 13 in Washington, D.C. The president-elect for 2003 – 2005 is Anthony Biglan. The newly elected board members for three-year terms are Laurie Miller Brotman, Kevin Haggerty, Hyman Hops, David Olds, and Mary Jane Rotheram-Borus. At the June 14 SPR Board of Directors meeting the board approved the appointments of Deborah Gorman-Smith as treasurer and Chris Ringwalt as secretary each for a one-year term. Congratulations to the new officers and board members.


The SPR Award Recipients, announced at the annual awards banquet are:
* International Collaborative Prevention Research Award - Don Des Jarlais,
* Science to Practice Award – Eric Schaps,
* Public Service Award – Alan Leshner,
* Presidential Award – Gerald R. Patterson and John B. Reid,
* Prevention Science Award – Denise Kandel,
* Community, Culture, and Prevention Science Award – Charles Martinez,
* Service to SPR Award – Denise Hallfors and Ted Langevin,
* Friend of ECPN Award – Marion Forgatch,
* ECPN Early Career Award – Kelli Komro.
Please click here for the text of the awards presentation.


The Annual Meeting marked the end of terms for several SPR Officers and Board Members. Gil Botvin thanked the following out-going board members for their commitment and dedication to SPR over the past three years: Tony Biglan, C. Hendricks Brown, Denise Hallfors, Tracy Harachi, Harold Holder, Clemens Hosman, Sheppard Kellam and Paula Smith. J. David Hawkins, president-elect, presented Gil Botvin with the Golden Trumpet Award acknowledging Botvin’s commitment to the field of prevention science and leadership and service to SPR during his two-year term as president.


The undeniable highlight of the annual conference was the debut of The Mothers of Prevention band at the annual dance. The MOP featured everyone’s favorite prevention researchers and musicians: Brian Bumbarger, drums and vocals; Gil Botvin, trumpet and vocals; Celene Domitrovich, vocals; Jim Emshoff, electric piano and vocals; John Graham, guitars and vocals; David Hawkins, guitar and vocals; John Jimenez, lead guitar; Michael Newcomb, guitar and vocals; and Randy Swaim, bass guitar. The band dazzled the high-energy dancers until 1:30 am with a mix of popular dance tunes, jazz and blues songs. The annual dance is a funding-raising event for the Minority Scholarship Fund.


The amendments to the Society’s Bylaws as proposed by the SPR Board of Directors were approved by a majority vote of the votes returned to the administrative offices. The amended Bylaws reflect the governance and operating structure of the organization as it has evolved since the Bylaws were originally written and approved in 2000.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me at or Jennifer Lewis at if you have any questions or comments about SPR activities.

J. David Hawkins, President

Return to Top


Home | About SPR | Membership | Annual Meeting
Prevention Science | Early Career Network | The Prevention Connection

Society for Prevention Research
11240 Waples Mill Road, Suite 200
Fairfax, VA 22030
P 703-934-4850
f 703-359-7562